Franklin County was established in 1875 from land given by Titus County. Although the origin of the county’s name is not recorded, it is generally believed to have been named after Judge Benjamin C. Franklin, the first appointed justice in the Republic of Texas. The county is home to Lake Cypress Springs, which was twice voted the Most Beautiful Lake in Texas by the readers of Dallas’ “D” magazine (2005, 2010). The lake is located about 10 miles south of Mount Vernon.

County Courthouse Address:

200 N Kaufman Street
Mount Vernon, Texas 75457

List of Cities, Towns, Municipalities, Etc.:

  • Winnsboro
  • Mount Vernon