Lafayette County was created in October 1827, from part of Hempstead County after the Quapaw ceded their land to the United States in 1818. The county was named for Marquis de Lafayette for his service to the American colonies in the Revolutionary War. The county seat is Lewisville. The landscape is rolling hills, largely forested. Much of the land today is owned by large timber companies, which manage trees for harvest and re-growth. Lake Erling is included in the Lafayette County Wildlife Management Area and is jointly managed by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission and International Paper Company for public use. Two other lakes, Lake June and Spirit Lake, also offer fishing, water sports and picnicking. The Red River along the western boundary of the county offers excellent fishing. Poultry is big in the northwestern portion of the county while truck farms in the northeast send tons of fresh vegetables to larger markets. As of the 2000 census, Lafayette County had a population of 8,559 residents.

County Courthouse Address:
1 Courthouse Square
Lewisville, AR  71845

List of Cities, Towns, Municipalities, Etc.:

  • Bradley
  • Buckner
  • Lewisville
  • Stamps