Red River

Red River County is separated from Oklahoma by the Red River and from Arkansas by Bowie County. Clarksville, the county seat and largest town, is sixty miles northwest of Texarkana. The county’s center lies at 33°37′ north latitude and 95°01′ west longitude. Red River County occupies 1,054 square miles of the East Texas timberlands. The terrain is gently rolling with an elevation ranging from 300 to 500 feet above sea level. The county is drained by the Red River and the Sulphur River, which form its northern and southern boundaries. Most of the soils in the county are either loamy with a clayey subsoil or clayey. Mineral resources include oil, gas, clay, industrial sand, and chalk. Temperatures range from an average high of 94° F in July to an average low of 30° in January. Rainfall averages forty-six inches a year, and the growing season averages 234 days annually.

County Courthouse Address:
400 N Walnut
Clarksville TX 75426

List of Cities, Towns, Municipalities, Etc.:

  • Annona
  • Avery
  • Bogata
  • Clarksville
  • Deport
  • Detroit